Réserver Meilleur tarif
Hôtel de France
Arrival
Departure
adults
childrens

Tourism in the area of Saintes

Le patrimoine

Abbaye aux Dames

Abbaye aux Dames

Created in the 11th century, the Abbaye aux Dames was the first female monastery in Saintonge. It influenced the area during 745 years, as long as nuns lived there. Nowadays, it is a touristic and cultural center in the heart of the city and it hosts an important cultural life (Festival de Saintes, Saison Musicale, Jeune Orchestre Atlantique, Conservatoire...).
Website : www.abbayeauxdames.org

 

Cathdrale Saint-Pierre

Saint Peter's Cathedral

The Saint Peter's Cathedral is located in the heart of the old town. Its massive bell tower, which replaces the spire that was never built, stands out with its lead dome. Although the cathedral was never finished, it became a major monument of the Flamboyant Gothic style through its reconstruction, which started in the 15th century, particularly because of its rich architecture. In the history of the Saint Peter's Cathedral, you can find fires, reorganisations, partial collapse, Hundred Years War, religious wars, lack of funding...
Website : www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

glise Saint-Eutrope

Saint Eutrope's Church

It is a Norman church from the 11th century. It was built by the monks of Cluny (abbey) around the tombstone of Saint Eutrope, the first bishop of Saintes.
As a stage in the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, its bell tower in Flamboyant Gothic style of the 15th century that dominates the city and the originality of its plan stand out. Two churches (choir and transept) are placed on top of each other and connected by a unique nave (destroyed in the 19th century).
Website : www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

Arc de Germanicus

The Arch of Germanicus

It was built in 18-19 AD by Caius Julius Rufus, a public figure of Saintonge, who dedicated it to the emperor Tibere, his son Drusus and his nephew Germanicus. This arch was used as a gate to the city, the two arches indicating the two traffic flow directions.

Threatened during the destruction of the bridge, it was dismantled and rebuilt on the right bank, a few dozen meters away from its initial location, thanks to the intervention of Prosper Mérimée (a French  writer) in 1843.
Website : www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

Le Muse archologique

The Archaeological Museum

Located near the Arch of Germanicus, it gathers Roman vestiges, columns, capitals, bas-reliefs but also objects from the daily life such as tableware, clothing, games, rituals... You can see an extraordinary piece in this museum: the remains of a Roman parade chariot.
Website : www.ville-saintes.fr

 

Amphithtre

The Amphitheater

The amphitheater is the most important vestige of the city, better known as the “Arènes de Saintes”. Its construction began under the reign of Tibère and ended under the reign of Claude around 40 AD. It was built to seat between 12000 and 15000 people around bloody and violent shows. Nowadays, festivals and concerts bring the arena to life again, like in the Roman era.
Website  :  www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

Thermes de Saint-Saloine

Saint Saloine Thermae

The Saint Saloine Thermae were built during the second half of the 1st century. They are the vestiges of one of the numerous spas built in Saintes during the Roman era. The extracted remains allow us to partially identify the hot bath area (caldarium). The site of the Saint Saloine Thermae is listed historical monument since the 25th May 1904.
Website  : www.monumentum.fr

 

Leisure activities

 

Markets

 

Cruises on the Charente river

To go out

Sports

 

Useful links

 

 

For more information or to book a room, contact us by phone (+33 5 46 93 01 16) or via our reservation centre.

Special Offer

Du 01/12 au 26/12/2018

Pour toutes réservations en direct - 10% sur toutes les chambres hors carte fidélité et soirée étape.

Garage fermé gratuit selon disponibilité et sur réservation.

56, rue Frédéric Mestreau
17100 SAINTES
05 46 93 01 16

Réserver Meilleur tarif
Hôtel de France
Arrivée
Départ
adultes

Tourismes autour de Saintes

Le patrimoine

Abbaye aux Dames

Abbaye aux Dames

Fondée au 11ème siècle, l'Abbaye aux Dames fut le premier monastère de femmes de Saintonge. Elle rayonna sur la Saintonge pendant 745 années de présence des moniales. Aujourd'hui pôle touristique et patrimonial au cœur de la ville, elle accueille une vie culturelle intense : Festival de Saintes, Saison musicale, Jeune Orchestre Atlantique, Conservatoire...
En savoir plus : www.abbayeauxdames.org

 

Cathdrale Saint-Pierre

Cathédrale Saint-Pierre

La cathédrale Saint-Pierre se trouve au cœur de la vieille ville. Elle se distingue par son clocher massif avec son dôme de plomb qui remplace la flèche qui ne l'a jamais couronné. Bien qu'elle soit inachevée, sa reconstruction commencée au XV° siècle en a fait un monument majeur du gothique flamboyant notamment par sa riche culture. Dans l'histoire de la cathédrale Saint-Pierre, on retrouve les mots incendies, remaniements, effondrement partiel, guerre de Cent Ans, guerre de religions, manque de moyens...
En savoir plus : www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

glise Saint-Eutrope

Église Saint-Eutrope

C'est une église romane du 11ème siècle édifiée par les moines de Cluny autour du tombeau de Saint-Eutrope, premier évêque de Saintes.
Étape du chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, elle se distingue d'abord par son clocher gothique flamboyant du 15ème siècle qui domine la ville, et par l'originalité de son plan: deux églises (chœur et transept) sont superposées et reliées par une nef unique (détruite au 19ème siècle).
En savoir plus : www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

Arc de Germanicus

L'Arc de Germanicus

Il fut construit en 18-19 après J-C par Caius Julius Rufus, notable Santon qui le dédia à l'empereur Tibère, à son fils Drusus et à son neveu Germanicus. Cet arc avait une fonction de porte d'entrée de ville dont les deux arches correspondaient aux deux sens de circulation.
Menacé lors de la destruction du pont, il fut démonté et reconstruit, grâce à l'intervention de Prosper Mérimée en 1843, sur la rive droite à quelques dizaines de mètres de sa position originelle.
En savoir plus : www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

Le Muse archologique

Le Musée archéologique

Situé près de l'Arc de Germanicus, il regroupe des vestiges romains, des colonnes, des chapiteaux, des bas-reliefs, mais également des objets de la vie quotidienne comme la vaisselle, l'habillement, les jeux, les rites, etc. On peut y voir une pièce extraordinaire, les vestiges d'un char romain de parade...
En savoir plus : www.ville-saintes.fr

 

Amphithtre

L'amphithéâtre

L'amphithéâtre est le vestige le plus important de la cité, plus connu sous le nom « Arènes de Saintes ». Il fut commencé sous le règne de l'empereur Tibère et terminé sous Claude vers 40 après J-C. Sa fonction était d'accueillir entre 12000 et 15000 personnes autour de représentations sanglantes et violentes. De nos jours, les festivals et les concerts permettent d'animer à nouveau l'arène telle l'époque romaine.
En savoir plus : www.patrimoine-histoire.fr

 

Thermes de Saint-Saloine

Thermes de Saint-Saloine

Les thermes de Saint-Saloine datent de la seconde moitié du 1er siècle. Ce sont les vestiges d'un des nombreux établissements thermaux que possédait Saintes à l'époque romaine. Les vestiges dégagés permettent de reconnaître en partie le secteur du bain chaud (caldarium). Le site des thermes de Saint-Saloine est classé monument historique depuis le 25mai 1904.
En savoir plus : www.monumentum.fr

 

Les activités loisirs

 

Les marchés

 

Croisières sur la Charente

Sorties

Sports

 

Liens utiles

 

 

Pour un renseignement, une réservation ou toute autre demande, merci de prendre contact par téléphone au +33 05 46 93 01 16 ou via notre centrale de réservations.

promotions

Du 01/12 au 26/12/2018

Pour toutes réservations en direct - 10% sur toutes les chambres hors carte fidélité et soirée étape.

Garage fermé gratuit selon disponibilité et sur réservation.

56, rue Frédéric Mestreau
17100 SAINTES
05 46 93 01 16